Floor 20.5

We have become quite set in our little routines–Benjamin, Toby and I.  It’s become a bit like Groundhog Day (the movie). Speaking of… Happy Groundhog Day!

 The Morning Routine:  Toby asks to go outside to “go potty” every day at 8:52am, give or take a few minutes. On the way back in, Toby gets spoiled with petting by the Lili (the building cleaning lady) and Dwayne (the maintenance man). I swear on my life they must wait for Toby in the lobby every day, just standing around. It is pretty endearing. Then Tyree, our favorite front desk guy, gets Benjamin to laugh at least once before the elevator comes. Then we ride it all the way back up and I count the numbers that chime by for Ben. If I don’t count he stares at me, then looks at the numbers, then back at me, expectantly.  [Side note:  I didn’t know until we lived here that there is no 13th floor in many buildings. A few years from now, when Ben can count on his own (crazy thought!), I think he will be saying, “Eleven, Twelve… Fourteen, Fifteen”  because he has heard me skip 13 SO. MANY. TIMES.]  Finally, we arrive on the 21st floor. Or should we consider it the 20th? Let’s just compromise and call it the 20.5th. As soon as we get home, Benjamin is programmed to go straight into nap-mode. I’ll spare you the boring details of the pre-nap ritual.  Then I gulp down more coffee so that I’m not tempted to take a nap myself. Then I work blog.

We’ve been blessed to have so many visitors up here on Floor 20.5. And several more to come in the Spring. We absolutely love to have people stay with us. Random fact: We have even talked about someday owning a bed and breakfast when we retire. We came up with this plan when we went to Costa Rica several summers ago, and stayed in the greatest little bed and breakfast.

There are still several of you (friends & fam) for whom we have not or will not be lucky enough to host out here in Baltimore. Although… (it goes without saying) the invitation is always open if you still want to come visit! But I wanted to post a quick little tour of our little place for those of you who may not make it.

This was from August 1st, 6 months ago, when we first moved in:

And yesterday, February 1st, 6 months later:

Leave a Reply

