Hippo Surprise!!!

We finally announced that we’re expecting number 2 on Facebook at the end of February… I was already 23 or 24 weeks, so a little late in the game… Here was the post:

A few weeks ago, we asked Ben, “Do you think you are going to have a baby brother or a baby sister?”
Ben: “Hmmm…(carefully considering)… a baby HIPPOPOTAMUS!”
I guess this is the official announcement that we’re welcoming a new little hippo into our family at the end of June!

So, in light of this little one in my tummy now being referred to only as The Hippo, last week some of my amazing friends surprised me with a Hippo-themed shower/celebration, at a party that was intended for other purposes (the amazing Med Student Grand Rounds 1 yr b-day bash… MSGR is this awesome org started by my super-talented friend Daniel, but I digress…).

Sneaky Erika asked me to help surprise our friend Rachel for her engagement, so just when I was pretty pumped to be a part of the surprisERS, a whole bunch of friends who had snuck in unbeknownst to me, yelled SURPRISE from their hideout in a raquetball court, of all places.  It took me a really long time to realize that I was the surprisEE. When I finally re-read the signs they were holding “Congrats, It’s a Hippo!” I slowly (probably painfully slowly) put two and two together. I must have looked really concerned, like a dear in headlights, for awhile. Haha!

The whole thing was SO unexpected and sweet (I mean, who gets a shower after their first pregnancy!?). My favorite gift of all was the hippo cake that someone special (Rachel) made.

HippoShower

Ben enjoyed taking home all EIGHT balloons and eating FIVE cookies. He woke up a few times through the night complaining of feeling sick and I swear he was going to throw up, but thank goodness they made it through his little tummy without coming back up.

Leave a Reply

